Prof. Amitava Sen Gupta

Honorary Distinguished Research Professor and Mentor, RDIL

PhD, MSc, BSc, University of Delhi

Prior to joining NCU, Prof. Amitava Sen Gupta superannuated from the National Physical Laboratory (NPL), New Delhi in March 2015 as its Acting Director, holding the position of Scientist-H/Outstanding Scientist. He also headed the Time & Frequency Standards Division at NPL. He is an expert in the areas of Radio and Atmospheric Physics; Electronics; Atomic Physics; and Time and Frequency Standards. With over 35 years of research experience, his major contributions include design and development of India’s first and one of the world’s most accurate primary atomic clocks, known as the ‘Cesium Fountain’ and the development of the prototype of a space qualified Rubidium Clock for ISRO. He has recently initiated research and development on single trapped Yb ion based optical frequency standards at NPL. He has also developed India’s first satellite based standard time broadcasts using the domestic INSAT satellites. Prof Sen Gupta was a member of the first and second Indian Antarctic Expeditions in 1981-82, where he performed experiments related to upper atmospheric radio propagation and Ozone studies. Subsequently, he was the leader of a 100 member team of the Eighth Indian Antarctic Expedition in 1988-89 setting up the permanent Indian Antarctic station ‘Maitri’.

Prof. Sen Gupta is a Fellow of the National Academy of Sciences, India (NASI), Fellow of the Institution of Electronic and Telecom Engineers (IETE), Fellow of the Metrology Society of India (MSI) and a Senior Member of the IEEE, USA. He received the O P Bhasin Award for Science and Technology (2002) for his significant contributions in the field of Electronics and Information Technology. He received NCERT’s National Science Talent Search Scholarship for his UG, PG and PhD studies at the University of Delhi. Presently, Prof Sen Gupta is the President of the MSI and is the Editor-in chief of MAPAN – Journal of Metrology Society of India.